and House of Commons, is necessary before any measure can become law. Every member of the Senate and the Oath of al- House of Commons must take the oath of allegiance before taking his seat.

Authority of Parliament.

36. The exclusive legislative authority of the Parliament of Canada extends to all matters connected with the following subjects:-

Public Debt. Trade and Commerce Taxation. Borrowing money on public credit. Postal Service. Census and Statistics. Militia and Defence. Military and Naval Service. Civil Service. Lighthouses, Buoys, &c. Navigation and Shipping. Quarantine and Marine Hospitals. Sea Coast and Inland Fisheries. Inter-provincial Ferries, and with Foreign Countries.

Currency and Coinage. Banking. Savings Banks. Weights and Measures. Bills of Exchange. Interest. Legal Tender. Bankruptey. Patents. Copyrights. Indians. Naturalization. Marriage and Divorce. Criminal Law. Penitentiaries.

Administration of public affairs.

37. The administration of public affairs is at present divided into the following thirteen departments, viz. :- Finance, Justice, Public Works, Railways and Canals, Militia and Defence, Customs, Agriculture, Post Office, Marine and Fisheries, Inland Revenue, Interior, Indian Affairs, and Department of Secretary of State, but provision was made during the last session of Parliament for the amalgamation of the Departments of Customs and Inland Revenue, the new Department to be known as that of Trade and Commerce, presided over by a Minister designated accordingly, while in the place of the present Ministers of Customs and Inland Revenue, two Comptrollers will be appointed who shall vacate their offices on any change of government, but shall not necessarily have seats in the Cabinet.

38. Each Department is presided over by a Minister who

The Cabinet.